BOOKS: 8 Scifi and Fantasy New Releases to Love this February

February is the month of love. Nothing to love more than a good book on a cold weekend morning. This month’s short list includes 8 new releases for February that are sure to fill the quiet time and make the coffee taste better.

The Short List

There are lots of books released every month, and I try to distill them down to under ten scifi and fantasy releases that are my best bets for the month. Often that is a challenge because there are so many good books being released. Check out The short list for February 2018.

Child of a Mad God

Child of a Mad God by R.A. Salvatore – February 6
In this new fantasy epic, Aoelyn is an orphan with magical powers who wants out of the barbarian society she lives in. All she has to do is develop her magic, escape a violent warlord, and avoid a demon that hunts those that are able to use the magic. Piece of cake, right?

Order your copy of Child of a Mad God from Amazon now


How To Stop Time by Matt Haig

How to Stop Time by Matt Haig – February 6
Sci-fi meets romantic comedy as Tom Hazard, an immortal moves back to London to become a high school history teacher. That gets a laugh in and of itself. There’s only one rule when you are immortal – don’t fall in love. Spoiler alert: Tom falls in love. Rumor on the mean streets is that Benedict Cumberbatch is working on a film adaptation of the book.

This is Grumpy’s Best Bet this month.

Order How to Stop Time now.


Semiosis by Sue Burke

Semiosis by Sue Burke – February 6
Lots of cool things here. First of all, “semiosis” is actually a word. Who knew? Earth colonists arrive on a planet named Pax that has a sentient plant life form that is not thrilled with the arrival of humans. The book spans about a century with each chapter being a short story. Reminds me a bit of The Martian Chronicles. A Kirkus Review of this book really praises the world building, calling it “astonishing”, and in the review mentions Larry Niven’s Ringworld. That’s two classic sci-fi books this book is compared to.

Order Semiosis today


Gunpowder Moon by David Pedreira

Gunpowder Moon by David Pedreira – February 13
After reading and reviewing Andy Weir’s Artemis, I’ve become a bit fascinated with the idea of a moon colony and the evolution of a society on the moon. Things are inevitable. Like the first murder on the moon. In Gunpowder Moon, mining Helium-3 has become a highly competitive venture as it fuels fusion reactors on Earth. People will do anything when the venture is highly competitive, including murder.

Gunpowder Moon is available for pre-order on Amazon until February 13


Pride and Prometheus by John Kessel

Pride and Prometheus by John Kessel – February 13
The idea of the mashup story appeals to me. The idea of mashing up Pride and Prejudice and Frankenstein gets a big old “Yes, please”. It’s a love story of sorts as Mary Bennett falls in love with Victor Frankenstein and makes friends with his monster. Mary Shelley’s horror. Jane Austen’s romance. What could possibly go wrong as Victor tries to find a body with which to create the bride of Frankenstein?

Order Pride and Prometheus today. You can get it the day it comes out.


Battle Hymn by William C. Dietz

Battle Hymn by William C. Dietz – February 20
William C. Dietz wraps up his trilogy about the second American Civil War. At stake, the future of the Union and restoring America to her former glory. Like the first Civil War, this story pits family member against family member, and in Battle Hymn, Union Army major Robin “Mac” Macintyre is in an impossible situation as the Union knows the key to success is to either capture or kill the head of the New Confederacy, Mac’s father.

Pre-order Battle Hymn from Amazon now


The Armored Saint by Myke Cole

The Armored Saint by Myke Cole – February 20
The Order is an organization committed to stopping any magic in a world that is consumed by fear of magic. Heloise, a girl from a small village, having seen the horrible slaughter perpetrated by the Order stands up against them, making herself a target. Cole launches his Sacred Throne trilogy with The Armored Saint.

The Armored Saint is available for pre-order at Amazon now


The Clarity by Keith Thomas

The Clarity by Keith Thomas – February 20
A psychologist meets an 11 year old patient who has memories of her past lives. Hidden in her memories is a powerful secret from another time, and a ruthless assassin will stop at nothing to get to it. The psychologist makes the decision that she and her new patient must go on the run. The Amazon description of the book says it is for fans of Black Mirror and True Detective.

Pre-order The Clarity on Amazon right now.


If these eight aren’t enough for you, here’s the entire list of scifi and fantasy new releases. This list is huge and it is updated hourly. Check it out.

Check out these recent book articles on The Geekiverse

The Grumpy Geek, Pete Herr is the author of “10 Things We Should Teach You In High School and Usually Don’t”. He is the oldest geek in the Geekiverse by a factor of two. Follow Pete Herr on Facebook, Twitter,and Instagram . If you don’t he gets Grumpy. You don’t want to see him Grumpy.

If you want to see more fresh Geeky content, support us through our Official Patreon Page & simultaneously earn perks & exclusive rewards.

Be sure to keep up with The Geekiverse across social media platforms on FacebookTwitter, & Instagram. Watch The Geekiverse on YouTube  and listen to The Geekiverse podcasts on Soundcloud or iTunes today!

 

About peteherr 338 Articles
Pete Herr joined The Geekiverse in 2015. He is the wise old guy who helps the kids. Well, he is the old guy, anyway. He loves reading sci-fi/fantasy, comic book movies and Star Trek.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*